For my Genius Hour project, I researched heart of cinematography. I chose cinematography because I really enjoy filmmaking. My research question for this genius hour project was how do you make a video/ the art of cinematography?

camera

I learned various different things such as camera angles, shot types composition and camera transitions. I learned what use each type of shot or angle would do if I added them to the scene. For example, moment Jojo is crying because he can’t find his phone that would be a Close – up shot of Jojo’s face to capture his emotions. Also, shot composition is where your subject lies in the frame placement is very important if your subject is out of frame then you’ve just ruined an entire scene. The truth of the matter is if Jojo is not actually in the frame and that’s what your audience is supposed to be looking at then, your audience will be confused and you want to not understand the story they wouldn’t watch the movie at all. Each camera angle could be used to express something different about the scene which adds to the originality of the movie.

This overall project helps me grow as a film student because of it really enhanced my learning when I go into my future film classes. Without this project, I may have never been able to further my knowledge on this topic. If it was not for a grade I would not have done any sort of research but, when there is a grade I really had to dig deeper which really does benefit me.

Earth

What I learned helped my community at Isd because now whenever anyone takes a video they will remember the tips I gave in my presentation to them. My next genius hour project is going to build on this hopefully I will actually get to make meaningful videos that will educate the world about any other topic I’m interested in.

My presentation: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1RDILWtxrPaQq4q-LNGZf921Ho5ZyYc_5-n-Ff3Hre6U/edit#slide=id.p

Work Cited:

Hitori, Sushi. “camera”.

Flickr.

Gill, Kevin.”Earth”.

The Planetary Crescent, Flickr.